October 18, 2007

bookheaven

Posted in Friends, Reads at 7:31 pm by meldee

Yessssss.

Just found out my library card is valid till the end of summer school, huzzah! I forsee many many trips to the library over these holidays. *rubs hands in glee*

I know, I am such a dork. I even have the picture (on my phone, though, boo—can’t find the bluetooth on my computer to switch on so I can’t transfer it to show you) to sorta prove it—me in Ethan’s sexayy specs, or me in sexayy Ethan’s specs, either way you put it.

I really am thrilled though, because this means I can read as many books as I like and not pay for it, because technically, I have, by way of library fees. Books here are not cheap—and for a lit lover like myself it can put a strain on one’s pocket. So I’m using this opportunity to take out as many books as possible—comprising, mostly, for now, Booker/Nobel Lit/Whitbread Award winners.

It has always been my fantasy to be able to walk into any bookstore I like and buy whatever books I wanted without having to think twice about the cost. *sigh* Someday, someday.

Anyhoo.

I’ve already read, finished and returned Vernon God Little (abso-fucken-lutely hilarious!) and am currently savouring the deliciousness of Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day. From what I’ve read so far, Ishiguro’s prose is like hot scones with melted butter on top—a delicious indulgence that of course, is terribly British. All prim and proper, if you please. I like. Vernon God Little, by contrast, was about as redneck as you could have it—a boy detained (and on the run) from charges for murders he did not commit in the barbecue sauce centre of America. It was incredibly satirical, and quite witty—and of course I appreciated the colourful words he Pierre used to invoke images of more…provocative…things.

My holiday reading list (because I want feedback, recommendations, etc):

1. The Impressionist, Hari Kunzru

2. Incognito Street: How Travel Made Me a Writer, Barbara Sjoholm

3. An Artist of the Floating World, Kazuo Ishiguro (yes I’m on a rampage)

4. The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy

5. The Buddha of Suburbia, Hanif Kureishi

6. Shopaholic & Baby, Sophie Kinsella

Don’t laugh ok, especially at the last one! For your information I used to be quite the chick lit chick before I turned into a quasi-book snob, and old habits die hard. But sad to say for chick lit I usually switch off la, because plots are usually overdetermined and characters can be quite blah.

But for those who want postmodern chick lit, I highly recommend Cecelia Ahern’s A Place Called Here. I reckon it merges the genres quite well, and you can spot all the recurring themes, imagery, etc. I want to write like Ms. Ahern, I really do.

/edit

In typical me-style I’ve already finished Shopaholic & Baby. Get it out of my system quick, you know? While there were the requisite laugh-out-loud moments, I’ve decided for the life of me why would anyone consciously create such a stupid character. Of course Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) may be lovable in her ditzy own way, but honestly, at times her sheer stupidity makes me want to knock her over the head with a cudgel.

That’s it, no more chick lit la. Unless of course I decide to do my dissertation on chick lit (any passable Malaysian/Asian chick lit for me to massacre and analyse to death? Please don’t even bring up that annoying chick May Zhee—something with a little more substance, please), which would require me to devour many chick lit books in the name of research.

I can’t stand these stupid, vapid, vacuous portrayals of women so frivolously caught up in the world of consumerism, sex, and patriarchal ideologies. But it’s sad because not many people (myself included at times) want to really soak up strong, independent, ballsy women.

/end editΒ 

***

To commemorate our final day of class, Temme, Kathia, both Cheryls, Ethan and I sat around for almost a good 6 hours (aye, 6 hours!) gas-bagging in the cafeteria. Meaning to say we talked. About everything and nothing, which often make for the most fun conversations ever.

It evokes a sense of nostalgia, because this is it; the end of our undergraduate year. Kathia’s going off to China, Cheryl Yab’s wanting to work in Singapore, Cheryl Dunn wants to abscond the country (smart girl), Tems will be around but working, Ethan will be here one more semester and me? I still don’t know yet for sure where I’m going, but this is sort of like the end of an era, you know? The fin de siecle.

Has it really been three years? My God, time has just whizzed by.

From being wet-nosed first years who hadn’t a clue about discourse or semiotics and ideology, to jaded third years who are constantly bemoaning the stupidity, passivity and general dead jellyfish-ness of some of our juniors. I know it’s been said a million times before but university life really has been the best years of my life (“so far“, sniffs the Homer in my head). The combination of really being exposed to new things (some radical, some not so), taking on responsibilities, coming into one’s own…I feel a little wistful that I kind of studied most of it away, though I guess it will pay off in the end.

And it’s not like I haven’t been without friends. I’ve met amazing people, been taught mind-boggling things, seen more than I thought I would. *gets all misty-eyed*.

Ramblings aside, cheers to you, my friends, classmates and countrypersons (I’m being politically correct here). It has been, in short, fabulous, dahling.

9 Comments »

  1. sulz said,

    i read the god of small things when i was 16 and couldn’t understand the point of the book at all. maybe i was too immature to appreciate it, lol.

    as for the latest shopaholic book, it’s typical lah, nothing better nothing worse, which in itself is something bad, thus worse, right?

    as for cecelia ahernc, her ps i love you turned me off her works for life. give me helen fielding or jilly cooper anytime!

    meldee: heh yes, well…it happens. i tried reading leo tolstoy’s war and peace (or was it anna karenina?)at 18 and gave up after five pages, haha. i think we’ve all been there, done that.

    yeah…but i’ve read all the other books, you know? so i feel obliged to read this latest shopaholic one too. it’ll be ok i guess provided i turn my brain off. i agree—ps i love you was a bit too mushy (i admit to tearing up here and there, but i think i was untouched by the horrifying trauma of literary massacre, aged 18 or so again) but it wouldn’t put me off her work πŸ™‚

    and oh, oh! i adore helen fielding! and sue townsend! oh the witticisms ❀

  2. Suet Li said,

    oh i fucken love vernon god little! i can’t recall where fucken is from..isit vernon? or clockwork orange? both the books are very similar to catcher in the rye too. the rest of your booklist i tak pernah dengar before wtf

    meldee: fucken is from VGL! haha now i so know where barry picked up his ‘fucken’ this and that from. i don’t think i’ve read clockwork orange (or catcher in the rye, for that matter) so i shall go check it out of my library too! *greedy face*

  3. Sarah said,

    Uni life finishing….I have been there for four years now and just finishing my double degree off. It has been the best and the worst years of my life. I know exactly what you mean about pickin on the junior students, but also about the time going so fast! I can’t believe that this time has flown by so radially.
    Havn’t had time for book reading but will try some off your list when I finally finish my last essay. The countdown is on! Used to be such a bookworm and nerd…Can’t wait to curl up with a nice juicy book. I loved ben elton’s books….

    meldee: heh yeah! *hugs* good on you woman. and…enjoy phantom *sour grapes* 😦

  4. tem said,

    indeed it has been fabulous. *clinks your glass*
    daaamn i can’t believe it’s ending so soon.

    meldee: *clinks back* yeah man 😦 do honours with us next year la. if not you’ll be stuck with them juniors…haha

    nolah, just kidding. i think it’s a fab idea to take a year off. i’d love to, but pressure’s on. hugs!

  5. Yawar Amin said,

    Haven’t read a good book in a long time … I read somewhere that DBC (DBC Pierre) stands for Dirty But Clean … sounds like a funny guy. I might have to get around to reading VGL. Random association: have you read Life of Pi?

    meldee: haha i’m not surprised, he does strike me as quite a quirky character (as seen from his author’s shot on the inside cover of VGL). I’ve heard many wonderful things about life of pi, too….need to get it out of the library also! VGL’s back there if you want to read it πŸ˜‰

  6. kathia said,

    end? after so many year as an undergrad, i never thought i’d see the end. at such a close range too.

    omg. its barely like sinking into my head what all this means.

    i must celebrate copiously upon realisation at a later date.

    meldee: lol well it’s finally happening. oh joy oh joy! we shall celebrate with TAG if my mum lets me out of the house—or once again doesn’t realise i’ve actually left the house, lol. and there’s still your farewell do, too! with the lecturers, no less? heh.

  7. Petra said,

    Hugs. I need to pick up Cecilia Ahern sometime. My Piscean cousin loves her. She recommended ‘PS I Love You’.

    meldee: *huge hugs back* i reckon you’ll bawl your eyes out at ps i love you.

  8. van said,

    I have read both buddha of suburbia and god of small things–they’re good so good choices, but god of small things certainly isnt an easy read. and both books made me feel awkward and slightly soiled after because they were honest to the point of worrying. but enjoy πŸ™‚

    meldee: i’m reading the god of small things now, and from the first sentence i was hooked! roy’s opening para is actually examined in my creative writing textbook, so i really enjoyed seeing where the rest of the story was going. i love her phrases, her technique…*rhapsodises* and i’m only on page 9! lol. i reckon the best books are the ones that get a real reaction out of you, that go straight to your core πŸ˜‰

  9. xahra said,

    kazuo ishiguro! my favourite book from him is the ‘remains of the day’, have you read it? i couldn’t put it down! the rest of his books range from good to perplexing (‘the unconsoled’. i’m still yet to finish the few, looong pages). still, he is literary goodness.

    becky bloomwood was a funny, but smart girl-next-door in the first three of the series. those were pure gold. but all the books that came after ‘shopaholic ties the knot’, she turns into this unreasonable, slightly stupid tai-tai. it’s disappointing yeah? didn’t even bother with shopaholic and baby. read a few pages in borders, and i knew it was going to be like its crappy predecessors.

    if you like chick lit, have you tried marian keyes? i think she is awesome.

    meldee: yes, i just finished ‘remains of the day’ last night! i loved it, i was hooked to the end. its amazing how he fleshed out stevens so well, considering he’s probably the furthest thing from a proper english butler! *marvels*. am on to ‘god of small things now’, i still have two more of ishiguro’s books to read. but from the blurbs at the back, i observe he’s pretty big on retrospective writing, ey? πŸ™‚

    yeah, becky bloomwood’s gone to shit. i was really disappointed.

    i ADORE marian keyes πŸ˜€ but even so her characters have gone quite predictable and though i know they’re all from the same walsh family, it is getting a bit old, with the dysfunctionalities. all the chick lit characters have become so recyclable, that’s why i’m slowly weaning myself off them. thanks for dropping by here! πŸ™‚


Leave a comment